Sounds of the Summer: ‘Always On My Mind’

11539069_1051383624886555_6550291107471559130_o12341258_1123790057645911_7215129257984333652_n

Check out Shanine Gallagher’s ‘Always On My Mind’ if you get the chance. Sound of the summer.

I’ve been able to catch Scottish singer songwriter Shanine on numerous occasions in acts of varying genre – solo acoustic sets, folk groups, and with a band backing her – and every time I come away amazed. With slots on Hit the Road tours and supporting acts such as Brownbear and Big Deal at King Tuts, she is clearly a fantastic talent with fantastic songs, and more to come hopefully. This track however, has shot to the top as my favourite. With its almost tropical feel from the instrumental sections to the delivery of the lyrics, I just love it.

Its hard to decide what it is about ‘Always On My Mind’ that sticks out and gets my attention: is it the jangly guitar, or is it the drumwork? The bassline is simple yet brilliantly effective too, and the vocal harmonies are gorgeous: perhaps its just the sum of all these parts combined that means I can’t skip this song. I could enjoy it over and over without getting bored (as I have done whilst writing this article…)

Have a listen and you might see what I’m on about.

Check Out Shanine on Facebook

Hear More of Shanine’s Music

Leave a Reply

